Who has earned the most Ballon D’Or awards among players? Lionel Messi “is set to win his eighth championship”

Argentine is predicted to defeat Erling Haaland for the championship after his World Cup performance.

For the ninth time, Lionel Messi is expected to take home the Ballon d’Or, and some sources claim the Argentine has already been informed of his triumph.

Messi might want to take his suit to the dry cleaners before the October 30 award ceremony in Paris, according to a report from the Mirror on Tuesday.

The forward’s ninth victory and his first while representing US team Inter Miami would come with another triumph. Having joined his squad during the summer, Messi would also become the first player to win while playing for a team outside of Europe.

The honor, which is given by France Football, was once only given to the top players in Europe, but it has subsequently expanded.


How many Ballon d’Or championships has he won?

Since 1956, most of the greats have received the trophy; however, only 10 have received multiple awards. The second and third places have been taken into account when players have tied.


Two books by Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (1980, 1981)


The 1980s saw the German World Cup champion play for Bayern Munich and then Inter Milan as a strong forward.


Two films starring Kevin Keegan (1978, 1979)


The lone multiple-winner from England earned both of his Ballon d’Or awards while playing club football for Hamburger SV in Germany.


Alfredo Di Stéfano: Two movies (1957 and 1959)

The illustrious striker of Real Madrid finished second behind Stanley Matthews in the first edition in 1956.


Ronaldo has won two championships (1997, 2002).

Six years after winning his first championship, the Brazilian number nine finished an extraordinary career arc by winning his second championship.


Two books by Franz Beckenbauer (1972 and 1976)

The West German defender made history by being the first person to win the World Cup in both managerial and playing roles.


Marco van Basten: Three titles (1988, 1989, 1992)

The Dutch striker could have won more titles but for a career that was cut short due to injuries. In 1988, he was one of three Milan-based Dutch players in the top positions for the Ballon d’Or.


Johan Cruyff: Three titles (1971, 1973, 1974)

The influential winger was a hero for Ajax and Barcelona at the playing level before later managing both teams.


Michel Platini: Three titles (1983, 1984, 1985)

Platini was a legend for Juventus and France in the 1980s but retired at the height of his career in 1987.


Cristiano Ronaldo: Five titles (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017)

The Portuguese forward is still playing in Saudi Arabia, having become the all-time highest-scoring player of all time at the international level.


Lionel Messi: Seven titles (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021)

Even if he does not win this month, Messi already has a record seven Ballons d’Or but seems set to edge further into the distance.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

Which teams made it into the Euro 2024 competition, and when does it begin?

Thu Oct 19 , 2023
  England has affirmed its eligibility.   As a result of Tuesday night’s victory over Italy, England has secured a spot in Euro 2024. They have secured their spot in the event in Germany for next summer along with eight other teams. Despite losing to Spain, Scotland was the first […]

You May Like